Agents or Aliases for my library

Hello there,

my name is Kai, I’m a Tinderbox newbie from Germany. So far I’ve been playing around with Tb7 for a few weeks, working through the Getting Started PDF and the help files. For my first real project I decided to create a TB project to manage my extensive personal library (about 2000 books, both fiction and non-fiction, and about 300 magazine issues). Which go me thinking about how to set up said project. I have a lot of books/magazines with several authors (short story collections, for example). Do I create agents for the authors, using $Author.contains(“author name”) to group the books or do I create aliases for books with several authors? Which one is preferable? What else should I keep in mind for a project like this?

Apologies if these questions sound silly, but for me these are the things I’m struggling with right now.

Sincerely,

Kai

Welcome to Tinderbox, Kai.

A great thing about Tinderbox is you don’t have to decide. You can add agents on the fly, see if they are useful, and delete or revise them.

If I were doing this project, I would first focus on recording my data on the 2,000 books and 300 magazine articles. Let’s say you create a basic prototype for the books, maybe something like protoBook. You’ll want to consider what attributes you want in that prototype. The standard attributes in the system’s “References” set of attributes probably have most of the ones you need.