How do I display an attribute in text?

I routinely create implementation guides for clients and want to streamline the process using Tinderbox. I would like to take a key attribute $Organization and display that in my text. An example:

We recommend that $Organization archive programs quarterly.
becomes on export:
We recommend that Foundation Partners archive programs quarterly.

How do I do this?

Funny, I’ve been using TB for years, but always feel I’m just beginning…

We recommend that ^value($Organization) archive programs quarterly.

Brilliant, thank you Mark.
@eastgate

Noting your comments in various threads that you’re returning to export, you might find of use the listing at aTbRef of Export codes. Older deprecated codes are now weeded from that listing. If you have templates using such older codes, you are encouraged to update them.

I don’t. Basically, I was using a couple of big TB docs for years at one job, and now I’ve moved on. I’m starting fresh with a new focus, so I’m a bit rusty at some of the more interesting things Tinderbox can do. I have to say, it’s quite fun getting back into it!

Hi, I am also trying to display an attribute value in the $Text of a note, for example $Name of the note. I have tried the recommended code

^value($Name)

as well as

^value($Name)^

but it does not display the value of $Name in the $Text of the note. Is there something else that I need to do?

Thanks for your help. I am relatively new to writing action code in Tinderbox.

^value()^ is export code. Which means, what you put in the $Text of a note, if it includes export code, the calculated result of that export will not be show in the Text pane – but it will show in the Preview Tab, if that note has an export template assigned to it.

Here’s a sample Tinderbox file that demonstrates the concepts.