List with notes and links

Hi all,
I’m just a beginner user of TB, I wish some help to understand if I can get from it this kind of thing:

Image I’ve these notes:

Note 1
Note 2
Note 3
Note 4
Note 5

Now, Note 1 and Note 3 have links to other notes.
May I have (and, if yes, how to obtain) in the outline view a list of all the notes that have links to other notes and - indented below each note - the list of these linked notes?

E.g.: Note 1 has link to Note 3 and 5; Note 3 has link to Note 2 and 1.

Note 1
— Note 3
— Note 5

Note 3
— Note 2
— Note 1

I know that I can display links via “View\Browse Links” but I would rather have a view of this kind.

Thanks for your help!

• Marco.

I’d recommend this thread as it seems to be trying to achieve the same end using aliases. Note though that aliases can have their own links, discrete from those of their original, so I’m not sure aliases in outlines is a good way to indicate links and I don’t think this scale well past a few 10s of items.

Also, how does your method differentiate linked notes from actual children? If you want more of an overlay listing, you could experiment with Hover Expressions, using action code to set a list of linked items.

I think what would suit would be to be able to use Roadmap view in a way not currently possible. That is to have a torn-off Roadmap re-focus itself to display the currently selected note’s links. For now that’s an idea and a feature request for someone to make.

Why not use a map? Maps are designed for visualizing links. Your hierarchy is flat, it appears from your narrative, so it seems you are looking to portray relationships among notes on the same level of an outline.

That’s a great job for a Map.

1 Like

I concur with the last. Don’t overlook maps simply because one is more used to outlines. For instance, here is your data from above in a Map with visible links:

As ‘Note 3’ is highlighted its outbound links are also enhanced (they’re actually animated on screen).