Main Topic and Minor Topics

Hi Everyone. I’m working on a major environmental risk assessment, so it was probably stupid to implement Tinderbox for this, since I’ve never used it before this project, but here I am. I have agents set up for “fish” “benthos” “modeling,” etc., using queries such as $TopicType=“Fish”. However, ecosystems are complex things and, even though the main topic might be about fish (info mostly dropped in from DEVONthink Pro Office, which is another question in my head altogether) I also would like to capture info from the fish article that might also address, say, mollusks or something like that. How do I make the “Fish” agent also search for mollusks and toss aliases or whatever into my mollusk container (or adornment) as well as the fish container? I apologize in advance if this is obvious, or impossible, and I am profoundly ignorant of what I am trying to do…which I clearly am.

The simplest approach, in my opinion, is to use a set-type attribute to record all the topics, and then use Attribute Browser to review the results. You could also have various agents in an Outline view that would query your notes in various ways:

$TopicType.contains("Fish");
or
$TopicType.contains("Mollusks");

and so on.

In the image below, we have a set-type attribute $TopicType, and for each note I entered topics so that they overlapped categories. Attribute Browser figures this all out.

Here’s the example file.

Topics Example.tbx (55.8 KB)

Maybe just finish the assessment the way you are comfortable with, and after that is finished take the results and at your leisure build a Tinderbox project to parallel the results? You’ll also then have an opportunity to compare the two approaches side by side and see what works for you. Sometimes learning under duress is unproductive, while learning from prior art is very productive.

1 Like