Prototype attribute error

I’ve created a “Zettle” prototype with the “author” attribute. Unfortunately, whenever I apply the attribute it automatically fills in the author with the alphabetically first author that exists. When I checked on the prototype itself, it too is filling in the first author available (screenshot). I try to fix it, but as soon as I click off the prototype and then click back on, it has filled it in again.

54%20AM%20-sm%20

The error also filters down and it looks like I have overlapping author attributes. Luckily, when I click on the attribute, the correct author shows up. I can’t imagine what else this is filtering into though.

(as a first-time user it won’t let me add more screenshots to illustrate)

Any thoughts on how to fix? Please keep in mind I have zero coding experience and probably need things explained in fairly basic terms. Thanks!

[quote=“jamie, post:1, topic:2546”]
Please keep in mind I have zero coding experience and probably need things explained in fairly basic terms.[/quote]
Quite understood, but it’s also not much info on which to give an accurate reply.

Something is setting an attribute (from the grab, it looks like $Authors) so the likely causes are—in no particular order:

• A rule or edict set in the prototype
  • A rule or edict set locally in the note
  • An agent action acting on note’s matching the agent’s query
  • An OnAdd rule in a container, acting on notes placed in the container

So the first think is to select the prototype note and open the Action inspector. Select the Rule tab. Is there any code shown there. If so, copy paste the code into a reply here (put a ` back-tick before and after the pasted code so it renders as code). Now check the Edict tab.

If both those code boxes are empty in the Inspector, select the note with the problem and re-check the Rule and Edict boxes. Any code?

I’ll stop there for now so as not to ask too many questions.