Agent to calculate notes' Relative Vertex Orders

Hello everyone,

I have spent the past several days trying to do something with Tinderbox, but I am very new to it and success has so far eluded me; I was therefore wondering whether someone could be so kind to help me out or at least point me in the right direction.

I would like create a Tinderbox Agent that calculates automatically for each note in a document the note’s Relative Vertex Order (RVO), i.e. the total number of links (inbound + outbound) for a given note divided by the total number of links in the document, and that attributes different colors to notes with different RVOs.

For example, notes with no links (RVO=0) could be, say, violet; notes with 0<RVO≤0.2 could be blue; notes with a 0.2<RVO≤0.4 could be green; notes with a 0.4<RVO≤0.6 could be yellow; notes with a 0.6<RVO≤0.8 could be orange; notes with a 0.8<RVO<1 could be red; and notes with RVO=1 (very unusual) could be white.

I think the AgentAction should be, for example:

$Color=“yellow”

But I am really stuck on the Query… So far, I have:

($InboundLinkCount+$OutboundLinkCount)/…>0.4 & ($InboundLinkCount+$OutboundLinkCount)/…<=0.6

But I don’t know whether parentheses can be used in Tinderbox, and I don’t know what Attribute to use at the denominator (…); is there an Attribute that counts the total number of links in a document?

Thank you for your consideration.

Best regards,
Enrico

Perhaps

$TotalLinks = sum(descendants,$InboundLinkCount)+sum(descendants,$OutboundLinkCount)

would yield the denominator if all the notes were inside a container at the root. Call that container, say “Base”.

If you want to include text links with basic links, then use $OutboundLinkCount rather than $PlainLinkCount.

Edit: adjusted example to conform with my final post, below

Thank you very much for the prompt reply, Paul.