How does one edit a Ziplink in a note?

I’m just learning how to use Ziplinks, but am running into a couple of frustrating problems:

1. How do you edit a Ziplink that’s in the text of a note?

2. I’m trying to use “::” to append text to a new note created by a Ziplink, but when I open up the newly-created note, the $Text is empty.

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Option-click to put the insertion point inside a link. Or use the arrow keys. Clicking a link in the normal way follows a link.

[[foo::bar]] should make a note name foo with a text “bar”. It does for me! If it doesn’t for you, contact support bernstein@eastgate.com with the details.

Just for clarity this is a once-only thing that only and option when creating a ziplink. The result of using the ziplink notation is a normal Tinderbox text link. At this point, i.e. after using a ziplink if you want to add target text, navigate to the note and add the $Text there.

IOW, ziplinks describes a notation for rapid note creation/configuration rather than the link it then creates.

Thanks for the assist Mark.

I guess my editing question is: how can I open up an existing (blue) Ziplink so that I can see the brackets and any other operators, etc.? Option-click seems to only put me within the blue word/words, but doesn’t reveal the underlying information…

You can’t. The ziplink isn’t “wrapped up”. It’s a shortcut for making a textlink in the usual way.

I think we are describing different things. I wasn’t referring to syntax used within a ziplink during creation but the fact a new user might assume that having used a ziplink that they could return to the note later and edit the (now-text) link there assuming it had special (ziplink) properties.

Mark, Paul -
My question is about the syntax used within a Ziplink and if it’s possible to ‘re-access’ that syntax after the Ziplink has been created…but my understanding is that’s not possible.

-TIm