Modeling 19th century industrial history

I’m new to using TB for my research projects. I’ve watched a number of Meetup and training videos to help me think about how to structure TB to explore industrial history during the 19th century in New England. I have not found examples discussing approaches to exploring history, so I’m hoping the members of the forum can give me guidance or examples. Though I’m sure it will change, I’d like to set up a high level map of the various activities, people, products, inventions, and industries. One thing I might do is create folder for each of the above categories and use either attributes or links to connect them, I’m not sure what would work best. For example, for a particular person, they would work for multiple companies and each company they would have different roles during different time periods, maybe represented as children notes under the person (these activities would use a different prototype than the person). Similarly in various companies there are both inventions and improvements to technology that occur during a period of time through the work of various technicians, inventors and management leaders, perhaps this is modeled by children notes or the industry representing each major technology and how it is used in production. Or, maybe the changes in technology should be its own category because of the interest in collecting these changes in one place, maybe via an agent? Any suggestions would be most welcome.

1 Like

Given your historical focus and its implicit temporal axis, I’d suggest you might also want to investigate Timeline view. This brings up a fact many overlook, unlike most apps where there is only one (or possibly a couple of) view of your data, i.e. your factual notes, Tinderbox offers a larger range. So you can have maps, and timelines, and … other views. What this means is don’t become a slave to others’ processes.