Note format template

Caveat: let me apologize in advance if this is ridiculously simplistic and/or has already been discussed a billion times. Though I am an experienced computer used, I have no background in programming or computer science. If there is a place where this question is already explained, please just point me toward it. Thanks very much, David

I would like to change the basic template for my notes. I gather that the only way to do that is to make a note with the desired characteristics (is that the same as attributes?), have that in a separate document, and then make links to that document when making notes in other documents in the future. Is that correct? If those links exist, does that confuse all the notes linked back to the template?

A very good question, so no caveat needed :slight_smile: Ao we are on the same page, what do you mean here but template:

I would like to change the basic template for my notes.

In Tinderbox the word normally refers to exporting data, though thatā€™s clearly not the aim hereā€”and my question does not imply an error in your usage. I think you are referring, in Tinderbox terms, to prototypes. this is the mechanism whereby to customise one note and them others use it as their ā€˜prototypeā€™ and in doing so inherit all those customisations. If Iā€™m in the right area, you might find my notes Inheritance of attribute values useful, noting that most customisations are stored as attribute values.

Does that help? Iā€™m sure there will be further questions arising from the above, but I hope this gets you moving towards the parts of Tinderbox at which you need to look.

That does help. Thanks for helping me to understand the terminology. I will look at your notes.
Best,
David

1 Like