Adornments on Adornments

I"m trying to visually organize notes. It made sense to use layers of adornments to do this. I’m still fairly new to utilizing map view. My problem is that I can’t get adornments to layer reliably. So if I have a larger adornment encompassing two smaller ones, I can’t reliably select the smaller adornments. Nor can I shift the layer sequence for the larger adornment.

I suppose one solution would be to use a container note instead. But first I want to discover if my attempted use of adornment layers is just wrong-headed.

You can’t (modified-)click select a smaller adornment behind a larger one. Don’t overlook blind-typing the name of a background (non-clickable) object to select it. Then, for any selected adornment, you can use items of the View → Arrange menu to move the selection to front/back or 1 level up/down the z-order (staking order).

In the example above you’re essentially drawing an outline onto the single layer represented by a map. In the left image ‘Syllabus’ tests as being inside() ‘Discussions’. Thus ‘Discussions’ is not merely graphical label, which is what it appears to being used for. I suspect what you’re looking for are such labels/boxes that are for visual markup but not part of the actual data (as in notes, adornment, etc.); those would be a feature request at this point. Until then, I’d suggest that as in the right image, don’t nest 'label objects. Although a bit more work, don’t overlook the use of adornment as map dividers, which go some way to giving you visual boundaries on the map.

You can also eliminate one layer of adornments by using a grid on the underlying adornment:

I don’t know if that serves the same purpose for you or not, but wanted to suggest it.

1 Like

Tinderbox 7.0.1 incorrectly moves an adornment that overlaps with another adornment when you Move To Front or Send To Back. This will be fixed in the next release.

Don’t forget that you can Lock adornments to the background.