How do you explore themes emerging from tags (thematic coding) in Tinderbox?

I wanted to open this topic up to help me understand how other people are using Tinderbox to find themes from their tags.

Understanding Tinderbox is not specifically designed to be a qda application, it is for me more than enough of what I need for this purpose.

As for me, I am just beginning to explore thematic coding. I have long primarily used tags as temporary categories for Tinderbox notes. As my understanding on a topic improves, I tend to get rid of my old tags and create new tags to begin a fresh new perspective to explore. Most of this work is done right now with the Attribute Browser. It helps me discover new themes within the tag categories. (Thank you JFallows). Intersections are interesting which leads me to try to develop themes from these new areas.

I would like to use maps more in this area because I believe it would give me more of a visual/spatial dimension that my current workflow does not. To do this, I am not certain if I could generate new notes-alias from all my tags then play with them in map view. Sounds like fun but not sure if this is even possible.

Anyway, do you do thematic explorations in Tinderbox?

Understanding that you canā€™t talk about actual patient data and actual studies, could you give us a more detailed example of thematic coding? Perhaps walk us through the sort of study you have in mind.

Hi Mark,

Over the years I have a rather large collection of personal commonplace notes, primarily reading notes. In this collection, I have primarily used tags as a way of virtually categorizing my notes rather than containers. This is done primarily to spark ideas and relationships between the notes themselves. In other words, I am very interested in the relationship between the notes:tags as well as the relationships between the tags: tags. This system is modeled (and adapted) after the zettelkasten system.