Linking confusion

Hi, I’m trying to set up a workflow for citation analysis. Each of my reference notes has an attribute $citekey like “2000Smith23” and I want to be able to write @@2000Smith23 in the text of another note and have an agent automatically handle adding and removing links between the notes.

I’m new to tinderbox but after a frustrating series of experiments I got something sort of working but I don’t get it. I have an action with the Query: inside("/home") & hasLocalValue("citekey") and the Action:

var $myref($citekey); 
linkFromOriginal(find(inside("/home")&$Text.contains("@@".$myref)), "cite");

But now I have a bunch of questions. Within the contains() function, why use a “.”? The following expressions which I got from the help files or online don’t seem to work: “@@”+$myref (links all notes that have an “@@”) "@@"+"$myref" (no links created at all).

Using $citekey(this) instead of having to define $myref doesn’t work either.

Using unlinkFrom instead of linkFromOriginal doesn’t unlink the links that were created

unlinkFromOriginal doesn’t auto complete in the action box, does this command still exist?

And this:

var $myref("@@"+$citekey); 
linkFromOriginal(find(inside("/home")&$Text.contains($myref)), "cite"); 

seems to link just about every note to every other one including self loops.

What am I missing?

What you’re doing is probably one of the more complex things you can do in a Tinderbox action (even if unwittingly) because:

• Agents act on aliases, though luckily we now have linkFromOriginal which eases part of the issue
  • In a find() the ‘this’ designator has a different meaning. To use a value from the note/alias being processed within the find() query, you need to use the ‘that’ designator.