Tinderbox for Academic Literature (Exported Bibliographies)

Hello World,

Newbie here looking to use Tinderbox for what I assume is one of its largest purposes - organizing academic literature. I have read through another post (Sense-making of Academic Literature) and am more confused than when I started. I assumed that there would be some way to read in RIS or other commonly exported biblio information from Papers, Endnote, BibTex, etc. so that each paper would be represented by a note containing these fields.

I was disappointed to see the author of the blog post was cutting and pasting things from Papers in order to get them into Tinderbox in appropriate fields. Can someone point me in a more efficient direction, or have an example of how to do this from an RIS export (not Bookends). Thanks for any guidance!

John

Tinderbox is a toolbox for notes so itā€™s generally a flawed assumption that lots of other people are doing any given task. Even when they are, unpicking the details shows style varies. IOW, looking for the ā€˜correctā€™ way to do things as you might with a single-purpose app, is less useful here. This also means itā€™s not a core role to deal with the idiosyncrasies of differing reference appā€™s choice of interchange.

Tinderbox has close integration with Bookends, with with it uses RIS data for transfer. By the same token Bibdesk files also use RIS data which can be imported. Pages appears to have limited export features but it does appear to export ā€˜bibā€™ and RIS files, which ought to be importable to Tinderbox via drag drop.

What reference data, i.e. RIS fields, are you trying to import?

Tinderbox does import RIS in various forms ā€“ most often option-drags from Bookends and related citation managers.