Two complete beginner's questions

I have been searching loads of places but there are two questions I cannot find answered.

1. How can I create a basic link (an arrow from one note to another)? I have read that I should use the “View Pane Link Widget”, but if that is correct, where do I find it?

2. I am starting from the Reference prototype (having dragged and dropped from Bookends), but I would now like to have some modified versions of that. Is it possible to duplicate the Reference prototype, and then edit it? For example, I would like to be able to set notes different colours or shapes for different types of document or different authors, and the best way to do that would appear to be to start with copies of the Reference prototype and modify them to create different prototypes. The problem with the prototype I created is that it does not display the metadata that appear in the Reference prototype.

Additionally, would it be possible to modify the stamp I use to change the Names of incoming notes so to have a command such as “If $Authors = “Smith” then set Prototype = “Smith reference””?

Sorry these are such basic questions, but I am getting stuck right at the beginning. I find answers to more complicated questions, but not to the real basics.

1. How can I create a basic link (an arrow from one note to another)? I have read that I should use the “View Pane Link Widget”, but if that is correct, where do I find it?

Select a note in the map. You’ll see eight resize handles at the edges and an arrow-shaped link widget below it.

Note

Click on the arrow and drag the link to its destination. If the destination isn’t handy, there’s a parking space in the upper right-hand corner of the window where you can temporarily park the end of the link.