Agent to collect all reference notes with links to notes in a specific container

Dear Tinderbox Family! I am fairly new to Tinderbox (bought a license in January), hence please don’t judge my lack of knowledge :slight_smile:

Issue/background

I am a scholar and university teacher and organise my course work in a tinderbox file. I have a container in which I organise oral exams for this semester. In this container I collect the names of the attendees/students as containers and in those containers the notes per topic:

/Oral Exams Semester XYZ/Date-Student/Topic

I also have a container in which I collect all relevant References:

/References/Reference-File

To each topic I have reference-type links pointing to the specific topics.

Inquiry/question

I would like to create an Agent to plan my reading tasks and that collects all relevant reference files. I thought I could collect all notes/reference files ($Prototype=“Reference”) that link (linking type: “Reference”) to any note in the Oral Exams container. I am pretty sure it is a rather simple task in Tinderbox but could maybe anyone help me figuring out the query code for the agent, as I have no clue where to start.

Greetings from Cologne :slight_smile:

So, you’re asking a several step question which has some edge and some starting assumptions:

• we want container /Oral Exams Semester XYZ to hold a de-duplicated list of identifying info for all “Reference” (proto)typed notes with inbound links of type “Reference”.
  • The reference notes’ titles ($Name) are unique
  • The reference notes’ titles are path-safe

Let’s assume the first two assumptions are true but the last isn’t (because life’s like that). In the last case we’ll use $ID (or $IDString if you prefer) listed of $Path in the list we collect.

We can use collect_if(scope, condition, expressionStr) for this.</s?—forgot you wanted an agent, working on that now.

[Testing solution as it’s not the easiest of queries - more in a bit]