Agent to Display Random Note

Hello, I’m new to Tinderbox and fascinated by its potential. But I am aware I am at the beginning of the journey… Please, be patient with me… :slight_smile:

What I would like to do is to create an agent or other automation that when triggered it displays a random note that:

Scenario A

• note is from a specific prototype

Scenario B

• note is from the root (any note, no matter its type)

The idea is to be able to “review” random notes.

Can anyone help me out with this?

Regards,

Santi

There are lots of ways to do this! Let’s look at one for scenario A.

1. Make an agent that gathers all notes using the prototype Dinosaur
Name: Dinosaur Collection
Query: $Prototype=="Dinosaur"
  1. Make another note that will display the title of a randomly-chosen dinosaur
Edict: $Name=$Name(randomChild(Dinosaur Collection))

Why an edict? We could use a Rule, but then the chosen dinosaur would change every few seconds! An edict changes every hour or so, and also when we select the note; that’s closer to what we want.

Dinosaurs.tbx (214.2 KB)

The query finds all notes using the prototype ‘Event’:

$Prototype=="Event"

and

This query finds all notes from the root of the outline:

$Container(original)=="/"

But neither does exactly what you want. An agent has no discrete operator to limit the matched items to an arbitrary number of matches. Plus every time the agent refreshes (very quickly, in a small document), the selection might change and that is likely not what you want.

Not stated but implicit is you expect an agent to show only one note and then only until you’re done with it. So this begs some questions:

• Of all the matching notes of the query (such as examples above), do you want the first—if so first by what order—or a random choice?
  • How you propose to indicate to the app you’re done reviewing and to show a different note at next update?