Are Devonthink watch folders not working in the current public release?

Just checking in ahead of our Devonthink Meetup. Are Devonthink watch folders not working?

Files/Watch Folders/ Group from Devonthink… and here is what I get

Am I doing something wrong? Anyone using them?

Tom

They are not; they shall return.

2 Likes

Hi, I am very much interested in TB. being a complete TB newbie, my main interest at this point is to use TB as a graphical frontend to my DevonTHINK data (and very likely much more over time once I have embarked on the beautiful productivity ride TB promises to be…;-)…). With that as a background: Is there a time line when the DevonTHINK watch feature will work again? or are the workarounds one could use? Thanks!

In the current release of Tinderbox, the Watch > Group from DEVONthink feature is “working”, but has tics. Mainly, if you watch DEVONthink documents that contain [[wikilinks]] then the watching feature might have unexpected results. For example, if you add a [[link to something]] in a text file in DEVONthink, but do not click that link in DEVONthink to cause DEVONthink to create the linked-to file, then in the Tinderbox watched folder you will get a new note named link to something but the name will be crossed out like this: link to something, until the referenced file is created in DEVONthink in the same DEVONthink group that you are watching in Tinderbox.

Also, the Ziplink feature in Tinderbox accepts characters in the command string that DEVONthink does not use in its corresponding wikilinks features. (Don’t ask why these basically similar features have different names; it’s a mystery.) The upshot of having document names in DEVONthink that use the same characters that can be used in Tinderbox Ziplinks as commands is that oddly named documents can appear in Tinderbox, then get struck out or deleted.