Bookends import

The Bookends import using OPT-CMD-drag and drop is great. However, is there a way to configure Tinderbox so that it renames the notes that are created so they have names such as “PublicationYear”+“ArticleTitle” or some other instead of just “ArticleTitle”? I wondered whether it is possible to create a rule/action to automatically modify newly created notes.

I am a total beginner, trying to evaluate Tinberbox to see whether I can get it to do what I would like to do with it.

You can’t configure within the drag process but it’s trivially easy to use an action to set the note’s title ($Name) to the year and article title. Try this code in a stamp:

$Name = $PublicationYear + ": " + $ArticleTitle;

How you effect that code is a matter of choice. I’d use an edict (or totally manual stamp) rather than a rule or agent. Why? You really only need to do this once, so re-applying the name constantly is a waste of effort (albeit the CPU’s, not yours).

Also, if the $ArticleTitle contains any of the following characters, you might want to remove or replace them:

) ( ; "

Why? Because currently those interfere with Tinderbox’s query-parsing, e.g. in agents. Don’t forget you have the ‘original’ title string safely in $ArticleTitle. Best substiutions are [ ] square brackets for parentheses, colon for semi-colon and straight single quote for straight double quote.

Does that help?

Very helpful indeed, not least because the links in your email took me to the Tinderbox reference file that I had failed to find. One of the things I like least about Tinderbox is the documentation. As someone said in a posting that I just discovered, the information the newcomer needs seems to be scattered all over the place. Thank you very much.