Calculating timecode from Hookmark-link to QuickTime video

I am using Hookmark (https://hookproductivity.com) to create notes in Tinderbox that are linked to a specific frame in a video — technically not frame accurate, but that’s ok for my purposes. This works beautifully in principle. However, the resulting URL (hook://file…) in the Tinderbox note refers to the position in the video in seconds and hundredths of a second (e.g. 573.06), attaching this at the end of the URL in the format #t=seconds.hundredths of a second, e.g. “#t=573.06”.
Here is the challenge:
I would like to convert the seconds into a conventional timecode and copy that into an attribute $TimeCode. The desired format is hh:mm:ss. For the example above, a manual calculation leads to the timecode 00:09:33 (no need to calculate beyond the full second).
I’m just getting started with RegEx, which I presume necessary to isolate the seconds at the end of the URL, so I’d have to extract whatever follows “t=” in a first step.

Could anyone help me accomplish this and break down the steps so that a non-coder with limited mathematical insight can follow?

Thanks all,

Tilmann

1 Like

A Tinderbox interval represents a time interval, such as “3 minutes 27 seconds.” As it turns out, if you assign a number to an interval, Tinderbox assumes that the number represents the number of seconds the interval is to represent.

So, your problem breaks down into two steps.

1. Extract the timecode from the Hook string, storing it as a number
  2. Set a Tinderbox interval attribute, such as $MyInterval, to that value.

The default display of intervals is probably what you want, but the .format() operator lets you customize it in great detail.

I see Mark Anderson is also typing, and will defer to him on step 1!

2 Likes

So the Hook app is now Hookmark (as of 23 Oct 22). I just checked and as yet the Hook.app itself is not rebranded, just the website.