Can I remove a container but not its contents?

Hello Forum

I drilled down too far and need to bring some detailed information (over 30 linked notes) up a level. (I think visually and work in map view.)

By switching to Outline view I see all those notes nested (inset to the right by one ‘step’) under the title of the container.

If I delete the container title line in Outline view will that leave all the notes nested underneath it intact, or will they all be deleted as well as they are “within” that structure? I hope this is making sense.

Thanks for the help.

If you delete a container, you delete all its descendants. If you want the latter first promote the all the children. This is more easily done in Outline than map view. Find the container you don’t want. Select all its child notes/containers, i.e. all the contents of the container. Click Shift+Tab (⇧+Tab) and all the children are moved to be siblings of the paper container. Now the container is empty it may safely be deleted.

The reverse holds, in Outline, if you have a selection and click Tab, the selected items become children of the note immediately before the beginning of the selection.

2 Likes

The children are all linked. Do the links stay with them or are the links deleted with the container?

Insufficient info to describe the question as phrased.

Tinderbox is not like wiki-based apps as popular today. It uses a discrete linkbase to store links. source and destination are stored as the item’s ID. So moving a note has zero effect on the link.

Separately, deleting either the source, and/or destination, of a link deletes the link as it no longer has a pair of valid IDs. Moving a note does not alter the link ID.

It might help to know why you thought the links would be deleted. Possibly the behaviour is some other app to which you are more accustomed? No judgement implied, but the question is sufficiently odd as to warrant a bit more digging in case there is another aspect that hasn’t yet been stated.

†. Note how different this is to an HTML page or wiki which will happily continue to link a target that doesn’t exist as the link is hard-coded into the page.

In outline view, select the 30 children you want to promote.

Choose Note ▸ Unindent.

Currently the descendants within the container are linked to one another; some of them have children which are also linked (within their “level.”).

I am wondering if, when in Outline view, I move all the children as you have instructed (select them all; Shift+Tab) and then delete the now emptied container, will all those children appear together in map view, arranged as they were, links still in place?

Will all those children appear together in map view, on one map/screen view, arranged as they were, links still in place?

Why would they not? I’m not following. You still haven’t explained why you think the links would break. If you don’t believe my earlier answer (which this follow-up would suggest), make yourself a small demo file. In outline view add two child notes to a container and link the two children to each other. Now select the two children and using the shortcut or menu given above, promote the selection. Do the links break? What to you see?

If you hoist/unindent a selection of notes they retain their existing order (and map position). I’ve already explained that links are based on note ID not position.

I was responding to someone else’s comment. I have no information that the links won’t break; if that’s in aTBref I have not been able to find it. To proceed without a bit of knowledge is too high a risk. “Links are base on note ID not position” doesn’t answer my simple question: yes or no. And again, I was not addressing you.

I’m done.

Please calm down. This is supposed to be fun. It is fun!

Here’s something to try:

  1. Make a new document with a container name Warblers. Or something.
  2. Add a few children: Yellow Warbler, Redstart, Pine Warbler. Make a few, but no need to go overboard; we’re just trying this.
  3. In Map View, look at your warbler notes. Make some links.
  4. Look at the container in outline view. Notice how the links are symbolized here, too.
  5. Unindent the notes as described above. Are the links deleted? Or not?
  6. Select one of the notes with links. Look at the Links pane (⌘-7). Are the links what you expect?
  7. Move some of the notes back into the Warbler container. Are the links deleted, or not?

Mark Anderson is a nice fellow, and he’s very experienced. There’s no call to say that you were not addressing him; you were asking for assistance, and he gave an appropriate answer.

Today’s meetup (July 12) had a really good hour on links. The video will be posted shortly, and I think you’ll find it useful.

Um :thinking: - dare I chip in. How about taking a backup of the Tinderbox first before deleting anything?

3 Likes

Linkoclastophobia (Claude made the word up for me) is natural for those ever burned by relying on cross-document links in a certain large office suite. Too easily broken by movements within the file system, potentially destroying hours of work. Best to make doubly sure.

Unlike some other note-taking apps, Tinderbox links are within the same document/file.

1 Like

The links remain.

The notes do not retain their map position, ie the map lay out/construction is lost.

I think that makes sense … i.e. the map is an organization of notes within the container that you want to remove.

1 Like

Knowing the notes would not retain their map position if I pulled this trigger, before proceeding I took a series of screen shots which I could use to recreate the new map in it’s new location.

With trigger pulled the notes appeared dispersed across the contents of the higher level map (makes sense). With a bit of sorting I managed to shift/select and drag them into their new bucket. I didn’t see any left behind across that higher level.

I then used the screenshots to recreate the original map; some notes were missing. There was a brief moment of panic, but they were all eventually found in different spots via outline view and relocated to their new home.

I cannot account for the handful that evidently lost their links in the process; it will remain an illogical, “too late to figure it out” curiosity for me. But mission successfully accomplished.

When I want to move maps to a new container I copy the layout within map view. Then I go to the new container that I want to use and go into map view there before pasting. Looks as if you got things sorted out anyway :+1:

How do you “copy the layout within map view”?

I’ve posted a small tinderbox file that shows how I go about it.

Map Copying.tbx (83.0 KB)

Hope it helps.

1 Like