Coding & Syntax tutorial

Hi there, help is needed. :). First off, I’m not an engineer. I’ve read the tinderbox ref files, but I’m getting lost. Is anyone aware of a Tinderbox coding & syntax tutorial? I have the basic .contain and $MyString= elements down, but for the life of me I can’t figure out expressions, conditions, counts, or other calculation efforts so as to gather more insights or espresso insights (e.g. twitter())from my data. I get confused by when to use a { or an |, etc.

2 Likes

I’d start with the two large PDF tutorial docs you can access in the app’s Help menu: “Getting Started With Tinderbox” and “Actions and Dashboards”. If you’ve completed those, where are the bit where you got stuck? Which concepts are you struggling to map from the tutorials to your own work?

1 Like

Wonderful, thanks. :slight_smile:

1 Like

The guides do help, a lot, but what would really help those on the Green and Blue slopes would be for some Double Black Diamond pro to make a list of the 20 most common pieces of basic coding with a short description of what each of them do they do. What does the dollar sign do? What does a period do? What do brackets do? Etc.

2 Likes
  • $ dollar signs designate that the item is an attribute. For example $DisplayExpression, or $Name, etc.
  • Periods (more accurately “dots”) are used as .dot operators, and list of dot operators
  • (round brackets) and {curly brackets} are used in conditional expressions
  • [square brackets] are not code elements – it is a common convention in coding dictionaries to use square brackets to indicate optional syntax. That convention is used extensively in aTbRef.

Learning coding in Tinderbox is like learning coding in any other context. Start. And continue. Read. Test. Experiment. Fail. Redo. Test. Succeed.