Creating a Dictionary Lookup for an attibute value?

I seem to be getting stuck creating my first dictionary lookup item.

I have an attribute called $HighlightColor with one of several values

Example
Device RGB colorspace 1 1 0 1 = yellow
Device RGB colorspace 1 0.5 0 1 = orange

I have created a custom attribute Dictionary named $ColorDictionary

Here is the code for the function i used (which may not be right, this is my first attempt at creating a function and using a dictionary)

function fColorDictionary(input){
$ColorDictionary=$ColorDictionary("Device RGB colorspace 1 1 0 1:yellow;Device RGB colorspace 1 0.5 0 1;orange ")
}

Goal: I am trying to create a lookup for my $HighlightColor to lookup and replace the RGB color value with its corresponding color

I am not sure how to link the two. I am hoping to create an edict within a prototype called pRdNote

TestingColorDictionary.tbx (599.1 KB)

Thanks in advance
Tom

Several immediate points stand out…

Creating the dictionary. You have created a used dictionary attribute $ColorDictionary. But you haven’t set it. This

$ColorDictionary=$ColorDictionary("Device RGB colorspace 1 1 0 1:yellow;Device RGB colorspace 1 0.5 0 1;orange ")

…is setting the entire value of $ColorDictionary for the note calling your function to the value of the same attribute whose $Name, improbably is "Device RGB colorspace 1 1 0 1:yellow;Device RGB colorspace 1 0.5 0 1;orange " (even down to the trailing space!). No matter, I think what you meant to use was (note the corrected ; to : in the second term):

$ColorDictionary=dictionary("Device RGB colorspace 1 1 0 1:yellow;Device RGB colorspace 1 0.5 0 1:orange ")

i.e. using the dictionary() action operator to make Dictionary-type from the supplied string—which of course is actually supplied as a list of value:key; pairs.