Estimated Release Date for TB 10?

Hi all,
I’m a high student and hardcore knowledge nerd interested in using Tinderbox but I can’t afford it. I’m saving up for Version 10 and I was wondering about the expected release date and if the price would be the same.
(Apologies if this is not the right place in the forum)

IMO the version number is not a milestone. Tbx is being constantly updated and improved, and even minor number revisions (say 9.5.0 to 9.5.1 to 9.5.2) can yield major functionality upgrades. A lot depends on what you need, and if the app is able to provide it.

You can play with the free download which only has a note count limitation, from what I recall. This should give you an idea if the app is right for you - if it is, the counsel is to waste no time, simply commit and buy it. As time passes and your skillset broadens, Tbx will only prove more valuable, never less!

Other thing to bear in mind is that what you’re getting with Tinderbox is joining an active and seasoned user community that holds regular meetups, and (sometimes) offers more solutions than you have problems :smiley:

Welcome to the Tinderbox community. I can’t answer your question directly, but only as Tinderbox has no formal roadmap or published release schedule. The real picture of releases is here: Previous Versions. There is generally a new vN.0 circa once a year and a vN.5 six months in but The long gap v5 → v6 is because the app was completely recoded using Xcode and current Apple frameworks for v6. Such things occur for long lived apps (Tinderbox is 21 this year).

Regardless, as @archurhh notes, waiting for a big release isn’t the big deal it is elsewhere. The licence conditions—albeit once you have a licence—are pretty flexible:

• any releases within a year of purchase are free
  • app continues to work fully after that period