Export for novices

I am not a computer programmer but a mere lawyer. I can work out how to create notes and gather them with agents. The notes have (1) a title (2) start date (3) end date (4) text. I can display them in Outliner View with columns I get a very useful document. I want to give it to a colleague who uses OmniOutliner. How do I do it? I have read the stuff about templates but do not understand it. How do I make the template act on my chosen note? And how do I ask the template to draw across the four attributes that I have mentioned?

Thanks.

Bryan Heaney
Edinburgh

1 Like

For export to OmniOutliner, I would use a format called OPML which Tinderbox generates quite happily. While I knock up a simple demo, some questions:

• How are you deciding which notes are to be expected?
  • Will the exported notes be nested, i.e. some notes being children of others?

As per your note, the expectation is that we must transfer, at minimum, the following attributes:

1. Note title ($Name)
  2. A start date (assumed $StartDate)
  3. An end date (assumed $EndDate)
  4. The note’s text ($Text)

Thanks so much. Ideally I want to export notes that I have gathered using an agent, I think that means they won’t be nested.

You have identified the four attributes I want to export.

BH

1 Like

OK, testing with Tinderbox v8.5.1 and OmniOutliner (Pro) v5.5.3 there are some problems. This is because although OmniOutliner still imports OPML the user will need to re-save the file in OmniOutliner format and then set the correct data types. Not impossible but a bit of a faff.