German umlauts and exportedString

I am a Tinderbox beginner and have a problem with the German umlauts. When I use the following stamp:

$Body=exportedString(this,$Text);runCommand(“echo " +”’" + $Body + “’” + " | pbcopy“)

instead of the umlauts (öäü) I only get √∂√§√º

Is there a way to display the umlauts correctly?

Where do you want to use the umlauts? As I recall exportedString() was something added back in v5 before the app re-write with a unicode base, so why the need to use it?

BTW, if you want to show code examples without the forum software messing with the quote symbols, either but a back-tick before and after the example or for longer bits of code put 3 back-ticks on a separate line both before and after the example, for this sort of effect:

$Example = "some text";

Looking further, this seems to related to the encoding of strings passed via runCommand(). In other words, this works:

$Body=exportedString(this,$Text);

But this fails (as you describe above):

runCommand("echo " +"'" + $Body + "'" + " | pbcopy");

This looks to be a UTF-8 encoding-related issue.

Lacking documentation of the innards of runCommand() I’ll flag it for @eastgate.

Here’s what I did.

1. I made a string attribute named $MyCommand
  2. I made a note named Hückel and Gödel
  3. I made a template note named template containing the text
echo "^title^"
  1. I added a rule to Hückel and Gödel:
$MyCommand=exportedString(this,template);
$MyString=runCommand($MyCommand);

I did this two-step because I kept getting tangled up in bad quotation pairs and escape sequences. This way, I see exactly what the shell sees.

I did not encounter encoding problems.

Note from the pbcopy man page:

pbcopy and pbpaste use locale environment variables to determine the
encoding to be used for input and output. For example, absent other
locale settings, setting the environment variable LANG=en_US.UTF-8 will
cause pbcopy and pbpaste to use UTF-8 for input and output. If an