How to grab values from text and insert them in $Attributes

Hi,

I am a beginner to Tinderbox and would like to start my first project.

I got notes that look like this:

as text it is:

Treffer 1 von 76
[ID: 19-275569]
19. Wahlperiode
Vorgangstyp:
Antrag

Biersteuer in betroffenen Bundesländern nach Möglichkeit senken

Initiative:
Fraktion der FDP

Aktueller Stand:
Überwiesen

Wichtige Drucksachen:
BT-Drucksache 19/27815 (Antrag)

Sachgebiete:
Öffentliche Finanzen, Steuern und Abgaben

Schlagwörter:
Biersteuer; COVID-19; Länder der Bundesrepublik Deutschland; Steuersenkung

I don´t have any experience in this field, but my understanding is this:

I can find for example the ID with regex.

\[ID:\s(\d\d)-(\d+)\]

and set

$Wahlperiode=$1

$ Nummer= $2

$ID=$1"-"$2 {<-not sure if correct syntax}

How do I execute that?
As action code I believe.

Any hint on where I can find information about how to pull values out of text and insert it as Attribute would be very appreciated. Thank you very much in advance.

I am totally stuck.

1 Like

You’ve very nearly got it!

Here’s one solution. Extracting some data.tbx (111.3 KB)

1. We have an agent that looks for notes that contain the letters "ID: ", followed by a two-digit number, a hyphen, and another number.
$Text.contains("ID:\s(\d\d)-(\d+)")
  1. When the agent finds a note with this pattern, it stores the first sub-expression — the two-digit number — in $Period, a numeric user attribute. The second number is stored in $MyNumber, a built-in numeric attribute.
    2.We now synthesize the entire ID string and store it in $MyString. (You don’t want to store it in $ID, which Tinderbox uses for something else.). This is easy enough:
$MyString= $Period+"—"+$MyNumber

Just to be careful, I used an em-dash instead of a hyphen here, because in some cases Tinderbox might mistake the hyphen for a minus sign. Don’t worry about this; it’s an esoteric detail.

2 Likes