Ideas on how to sort notes

I’m new to Tinderbox, about a week or two in. I’ve been going through the forum and aTBref and various video tutorials. Many, many thanks to all those who have contributed answers and tutorials.

I’m trying to sort my notes alphabetically, but as you can see from the screenshot below, the numbers aren’t in the proper order. If I understand correctly, this is expected behaviour. What I’m wondering is whether there’s a straightforward way to get the expected order where ARC r. 10.51 and ARC r. 12.40 would be below ARC 9.16. I should clarify that not every note in this container starts with “ARC r.”

The quick-and-dirty is to extract (from each Note’s $Name Attribute) the portion you’d like to sort along; create a User Attribute ($Sorter) and paste those specific values to it. Then Sort on $Sorter. You can automate this extract-and-paste-over process (to a degree) with action code.

I’ll add: The Outline View is a wonderful place; turn on Menu “View/Use Columns” and you can sort by any Attribute, all day. You can do the same in Attribute View - but with the added advantage that you can see your Notes sorted ACROSS Containers. Whee!

I’ll add further: Glancing at your example - I’d use action code to copy out sections of the Note Names. Create a $SectionNo User Attribute, and copy the “ARC r. xx.x” value to it.
One might consider an Agent that nests and sorts your Notes by $SectionNo, Outline-style; one you can view/edit quite flexibly in Outline View, say.

1 Like

The problem here is that string attributes like $Name sort lexicographically — strictly as a dictionary would sort. That’s predictable, but not always the way your library might sort.