Obsidian launches "properties"

I don’t use Obsidian (I am aware that many do; in fact we we’ll have Joel Chan talk about Obsisian on Sept. 16), but I do track Obsidian announcements and stroies about it

I recently read that Obsidian released a “Properties” feature that seems to act like TBX attributes. I can see this as a big jump for Obsidian. This will go hand in hand with its recently released Canvas (e.g., “Map View”) feature and its updated publishing capabilities.

I’m curious. Do we have any Obsidian users out there? What do you think?

I’ve been using Obsidian for several months. The syncing works very well, even with a lot of files. But, in my experience, the fact is that the YAML frontmatter is not as fonctional nor as nice and fine as Tinderbox index card even with that new feature “Properties”. For instance, when it comes to review some specific notes with a lot of attributes, the Tags search view in Obsidian is not as handy and intuitive as the Attribute Browser. And if you need to visualise your notes, Tinderbox does perfectly what it does, even if Obsidian has a kind of “map” feature too. Three pictures to illustrate that point briefly. You cannot get that — a thinking space — until you use Tinderbox.

a

But, as we make a comparison between two tools that have not been designed to be compared, I’d say that I’m not quite fair with Obsidian. It’s certainly the right tool to write in Markdown in so far as one can easily outline a text nearly as with Scrivener. I’ve been using it on an iPad in order to take reading notes and as its sync feature works perfectly, it’s a pleasure to use it in this way. But, if you want to feel — I barely exaggerate — the sensation of using a good old index card, old but so powerful, with so many research features, Tinderbox is the tool. Frankly, what is the tool that allows you to do this experience below?

1 Like