Tinderbox JSON demo

This is my first try at using Tinderbox to process JSON data, so I thought I’d post my success in case any other beginner-users needed an example.

I use the app “Timing” to track my daily activities on my MacBook Pro, and the app produces a JSON file with records that show times, durations, programs used, and projects worked-on.

I wanted to incorporate this JSON data in my daily Tinderbox journal file, and so I worked-up a demo that shows how I figure out how to read a JSON file and create individual notes. The file is attached with some demo data.

I want to improve this by creating a Tinderbox dashboard and summarizing the duration and project data, but that’s the next step I’ll work on.

Timing JSON demo.tbx (235.3 KB)

2 Likes

Thanks for sharing this. When opening the above TBX, the key parts I observe are:

• the JSON source being used is the $Text of note “Timing Input” at the top of the outline.
  • the code reading and generating output from the JSON is stamp note “Process JSON simple”—helpfully opened as a separate window in the TBX supplied.
  • the result of the stamp is the container “Daily JSON Tracking” and contents

Replicating those steps, I only get part of the way, so I wonder if a bit of code is missing. I renamed your example output container (so as not to alter/overwrite it) and got this output:

Issues:

• The new child notes aren’t getting the correct prototype set (as would be expected from the code)
  • Of the attributes being set, only $duration is being populated

Odd side observation. Although the user attribute duration ($duration) exists in the document, the action code syntax colouring in the stamp shows the attribute in black as if not defined. Strange.

Regardless of issues above, thanks for sharing such a useful practical example. :slight_smile:

I think the naming is fixed by this,