Using Tinderbox to code...converting map relationships to text representation

Hi,

I am a 2-week Tinderbox newbie.

My goal is to use Tinderbox in my coding.

In particular, I am using the Map view to design relationships between objects. I want to use this relationship map to guide my code creation. Ideally, I’d like to use the (object)-relationship-(object) info in the map view to be translated into text that I could use to write my code

However, I do not think that particular “translation” happens in the outline view. Not sure how to do it.

While I am trying to figure it out, I figured I’d ask for help.

Thanks for any help,
José

I’m guessing you’re talking about links? If so, look at the linkedTo() and linkedFrom() operators. Although links are only drawn in Map and Timeline views they can be interrogated via action code from any view.

To give beet advice it would help to have a bit more detail (screen grab perhaps?) of what you see and what aspects of that visualisation you want to capture/implement.

1 Like

Hey Mark,
Thanks for getting back to me. I suppose I am talking about links. OK, so I’ll try those operators. I’d like to end up with basically a table of LinkedFrom(), LinkedTo() and Link name.

Here is a screenshot of a portion of my map

Thanks,
José

Here’s a sample Tinderbox file that collects the names of the inbound and outbound linked notes for a given note into a list (for each category) in the note, then adds that info to the text of each note.

You can revise this as you wish – if you need a table, then I would suggest using export templates to create CSV or Markdown-based tables.

There is a prototype that uses this simple rule:

$LinkToMe=links.inbound."PARENT_OF".$Name;
$LinkFromMe=links.outbound."PARENT_OF".$Name;
$Text="To Me: "+$LinkToMe + "\nFrom Me: " + $LinkFromMe+"\n"

Link Test.tbx (64.9 KB)

1 Like

Hey Paul,
I really appreciate the help.

Dear @PaulWalters,