Extract text with particular formatting

Is there a way to isolate, find, or collect text with particular formatting?

That is, suppose I want to create a note or container that collects all the boldfaced text from some notes. Is that possible?

Thank you.

Although there is action code to set bolding on a string, is is not a searchable feature. But, have you considered AppleScript? Probably better researched in an AppleScript centric forum, but I’d be surprised if it wasn’t possible.

Thank you for the swift reply. I’m a newbie, so perhaps there’s a better way of doing what I want. I’m creating many reading notes, with text ranging from a few words to a few hundred. Within those notes, there are portions that I want to collect elsewhere, because they have special significance. My first thought was to highlight them by marking them bold, but there are other possibilities. I could bracket these passages with %%special characters%% maybe. The goal is to have a special note with $Text composed of these snippets, concatenated. Does this make sense as a plausible problem?

Yes, marking the text rather than styling it would make to possible to match section(s) of a $Text using .contains() and using the back-reference created by the regular expression to pass the matched string to the end of $Text in another note. In designing your workflow, you will need to consider how/where you will record a note has been checked so you don’t keep re-adding the quotes.