Is anyone taking advantage of an AI for programming actions, edicts, etc

Im curious if anyone is having luck leveraging AI to do the dirty work of programming. Personally I only dabble in coding, so I was getting really nervous about having to operate Tinderbox with Regex and Perl; but now that AI can code Im really looking forward to trying out TBs most powerful features.

Any tips or advice for a complete novice?

So far, the experiments I’ve done with asking various AI clients to write Tinderbox action code is that the AI very happily writes what it says is action code, but is in fact unworkable.

That part aside, I’m hesitant to think that AI is a good way for folks to get working program logic, if the person who asked for the code does not understand the code. So, yes, ask AI to write code in languages that one can at least parse for valid and efficient logic.

1 Like

The dangers of trusting translation of unknown quality is well known: Dirty Hungarian Phrasebook - Wikipedia

What’s not clear is why AI, which has little (no?) semantic understanding of what we write is more trustworthy for being a machine. As stated above, I’ve found AI is more use in a context where I know that subject area and gan see the AI’s then-obvious bad guesses.