Link title, not link type?

Hi there,

I’m a college student and I use Tinderbox to manage my note of thesis and my workspace, which means tracking the Git repo of my codes, write down some notes and ideas for each experiment I’ve performed. My experience if TB is fantastic.
I always use Link to connect each version of my code(note) and sometimes I want those links to carry more informations, like how the bug is fixed. And I want that information to be rendered directly on the Map view so I can tell how the update flow goes when I’m staring at them. Like this:

This was done by setting the text “Bugfix: reshape the Tensor at input of CNN” as the link type, which creates a new link type for the entire document. But instead, I don’t want that new type be created, because I always think that too many link types causes slow loading time for links. Besides, it’s also hard for agents to trace them. I only want a link type of Bugfix of which the title or content is “reshape the Tensor at input of CNN”.
Any ideas about this? Many thanks for your attention.

NiwTR

There is no such functionality as you describe. The labels on links are the link type. To have a different label you need a different type.

The link types allows different types of linkage to be illustrated and analysed. They weren’t intended as a a per-link annotation, thus the status quo. An alternate method might be to put that label, i.e. “bugfix…”, as the (beginning of) the $Text of the later note and to display that text on the note icon. Notes can show body text.

Thanks for your reply.

Well in that case, I’d vote for this feature :smile: Because it’s always natural in many other Apps, like Scapple, to create titles for links. Link titles can provide more informations to display, it’s really useful for me.